Hat-tip to Martha Wells!

She has an interview in the most recent issue of Transformative Works and Cultures. I missed it in the end-of-year flurry of December. She, Jo Graham, and Melissa Scott discuss writing fan fiction as well as pro media tie-ins.

Snip:

I enjoyed writing fan fic, but I find original SF/F more rewarding because I feel less creative constraint. I love creating my own worlds and my own characters, and not being bound by any prior assumptions on the part of the reader. In contrast, the enjoyment I get out of fan fic is from writing TV or movie characters and worlds that I have fallen in love with, and trying to duplicate in prose what I see on the screen as closely as possible, then using that framework to build new stories around.

Leave a Reply

